Parchment Paper Salmon

It’s been HOT, HOT, HOT in LA lately. Like sweat pooling behind your knees and through your shirt hot. Never thought I would say it but I wish it was a a bit cooler. It’s October and I love sweatshirt weather and cuddling under blankets at night and you definitely can’t do either of those right now. Despite my complaints about the warm weather, you really can’t beat views like this:

Sunsets in Santa Monica
Sunsets in Santa Monica

And what made yesterday even better? The San Diego Chargers running train on the Jets!! I will admit that I’m a newly converted Charger fan. Since LA does not have a football team, I naturally rooted for whoever the Patriots were playing because I have a strong dislike for any Boston professional sports teams. (As a side note- this stems from my love for the Lakers and their bitter rivalry with the Celtics. Ask any of my friends and they will tell you that I bleed purple and gold for #24 and the LOS ANGELES LAKERS.) My boyfriend in from San Diego and by default I have become a Chargers fan. SO excited to see them doing well and even more excited that we’re going to see them play the Patriots in December at Qualcomm! #boltup

#BoltUp
#BoltUp

With the Chargers win, it was only fitting to have a winning dinner. Whole Foods was having a sale on wild caught salmon (GO SUSTAINABLE FISHING PRACTICES!) and so we had to buy some. I will admit that I don’t eat it as much as I should but maybe if I make parchment paper salmon every night for dinner, I might just get all my Omega 3’s in!

Parchment Paper Salmon with Greek Yogurt Mustard Sauce

Parchment paper salmon packets!
Parchment paper salmon packets!

Ingredients

  • 3 salmon fillets (about the size of your hand)
  • 1 small yellow zucchini, sliced
  • 1 small green zucchini, sliced
  • 1/2 red onion, minced
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil
  • 1 lemon sliced, 1 lemon halved
  • 1/4 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • Whole Foods all-purpose seasoning (or similar- I also like Trader Joe’s salt free 21 Seasoning Salute)
  • 1 TBS whole grain mustard
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Tear off 3 medium sized sheets of parchment paper. In the middle of the parchment paper, arrange the sliced zucchini as a base for the salmon.
  2. Place the salmon fillet on top of the zucchini. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and drizzle with olive oil. Top with 1 TBS minced onion and lemon slices.
  3. Fold the parchment paper into packets. I folded the parchment paper how I had seen on a cooking show (see photo) but the folks at Cooking Light have a great method that further hammers home the heart health benefits of eating fish!
  4. Put the packets on a rimmed baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes, depending on the thickness of the salmon fillets.
  5. While the fish is cooking, whisk together the Greek yogurt, mustard, garlic salt, all-purpose seasoning, fresh cracked black pepper, rosemary, thyme, and fresh squeezed lemon juice (about 2 TBS).
  6. Remove fish from oven and carefully open the packets. Serve with lemon wedges and a drizzle (or more!) of the yogurt sauce!

Leave a Reply

