Oven Baked Okra Bites

photo-1

When I drove across the country to move to New Hampshire for my internship last summer, I was obsessed with Cracker Barrel. We don’t have it in California and it litters the highways from Utah to New Hampshire. So I did what every road trippin American should do – I stopped at Cracker Barrel!

Low and behold, I was surrounded with country decor like no other and a menu that had me salivating at every star, puzzle, plowhouse, and dog (a little food service menu design terms a la RD exam studying!). Cracker Barrel was no joke and I was in heaven.

The first time I tried okra was at CB. They were fried (of course) and I may or may not have eaten a few too many. Since this initial introduction to the Southern staple okra, I have been obsessed. During my food service rotation, they served them steamed and I loved their gelatinous but crunchy texture.

When I moved home this summer, I bought some beauties at the farmers market, marinated and skewered them on the BBQ – DELISH.

And now bringing me to today- wanna be Cracker Barrel – oven baked okra fries. I made these paleo, but you can certainly regular flour, buttermilk, add some cornmeal, etc.

photo

Ingredients

  • 1 pound okra, ends trimmed and sliced into coins
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 TBS garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp chipotle chili powder
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp cumin

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray.
  2. Combine the almond flour with the spices in a shallow dish.
  3. Whisk the 2 eggs in a separate dish.
  4. Create a breading station. Add a few pieces of the okra to the egg wash, remove, and toss in the almond flour mixture. Spread breaded okra evenly on a baking sheet.
  5. Once all okra had been breaded, spray with cooking spray. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes. You may need to rotate the pans to ensure even browning.
  6. Remove when okra is golden brown and crisp. I dipped mine in Frank’s Red Hot! YUM!

Do you like Cracker Barrel? What are your favorite treats? Surprisingly my favorite is the chicken and dumplings…random but they grow on me every time I get them!


2 thoughts on “Oven Baked Okra Bites

Leave a Reply

